NYC Gifted and Talented Program and Testing


NYmag Article – Why Kindergarten Tests Are Worthless…
February 1, 2010, 9:40 pm
Filed under: BSRA OLSAT tests, NYC Gifted and Talented Program, OLSAT test prep | Tags: ,

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I am curious what your thoughts are. For me, I think I feel even more stressed out for my little boy Lucas, age 4. He took the G&T this past weekend at NEST–one of the better programs in NYC.

How do I feel about the article–even more frustrated and worried! The fact that parents are paying top dollar to prepare their child–how can I compete with that? When did wanting your child in a good school become a competition? I could not afford to sign him up for preperatory courses; i did however use the practice OLSAT exam provided by DOE.

What’s more–I didn’t know what to expect for Lucas or how to prepare him mentally. A random stranger picked him up and walked him away. My fear is his anxiety being in a room with this person would intefere with his ability to answer questions.

If the test are worthless for 4 year olds–why subject them to it. Why not waitlist–and lottery the system and call it a day?

Thanks for letting me vent.

Comment by Lucy




Leave a Reply

